News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/4/2018 5:13:33 PM to 6/1/2018 12:00:00 AM.

News Flash

News Flash

Posted on: January 3, 2018

[ARCHIVED] Jim Eakin selected to serve as Planning Commission Chair, John Christopoulos to serve as Vice Chair


The Planning Commission consists of five members appointed by a majority vote of the City Council. Members must be residents and registered voters of Rancho Santa Margarita and normally serve 2-year terms.

 As stipulated by California law, the Planning Commission advises the City Council in developing and drafting land use and planning legislation, including the General Plan, specific plans, and implementing ordinances such as the Zoning Code. The Planning Commission also makes recommendations to the City Council regarding land use, reviews proposed development for consistency with the Zoning Code and the General Plan of the City and for compatibility with the surrounding neighborhood and environment. The Planning Commission performs a quasi-judicial function by deciding whether particular projects or requests presented to the City for consideration meet requirements of the General Plan, Zoning Ordinances, and/or state law.

Planning Commission

Jim Eakin, Chair
Resident since 1999

John Christopoulos, Vice Chair
Resident since 1998

Anne Figueroa, Commissioner
Resident since 1994

Mark McQuaid, Commissioner
Resident since 1999

David A. Robertson, Commissioner
Resident since 2000

Additional Info...
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in News Flash