Planning Commission


  • 1st Wednesday of each month
  • 6:30 p.m.
  • City Hall Council Chamber
    22112 El Paseo
    Rancho Santa Margarita, CA 92688

Agendas & Minutes

Planning Commission agendas are posted 72 hours prior to the meeting.. Planning Commission minutes are posted within three (3) business days following the date the minutes are approved by the Planning Commission.  To view Planning Commission agendas or minutes dated prior to September 2011, please contact the Planning Commission Secretary at 949-635-1800, ext. 6701.

View All Agendas and Minutes

Planning Commission 4


James M. Leach, Chair
 Resident since 2001

Dave Triepke, Vice Chair
 Resident since 1996

Kristen Camuglia,  Commissioner
 Resident since 2012

Eric Lima, Commissioner
 Resident since 2011

Blaine J. Nelson, Commissioner 
Resident since 2010


The Planning Commission consists of 5 members appointed by a majority vote of the City Council. Members must be residents and registered voters of Rancho Santa Margarita and normally serve 2-year terms.

As stipulated by California law, the Planning Commission advises the City Council in developing and drafting land use and planning legislation, including the General Plan, specific plans, and implementing ordinances such as the Zoning Code. The Planning Commission also makes recommendations to the City Council regarding land use, reviews proposed development for consistency with the Zoning Code and the General Plan of the City and for compatibility with the surrounding neighborhood and environment.

The Planning Commission also performs a quasi-judicial function by deciding whether particular projects or requests presented meet requirements of the General Plan, Zoning Ordinances, and/or state law. Decisions of the Planning Commission may be appealed to the City Council.

Serving on the Commission

If you are interested in serving in the City by participating on the Planning Commission, please fill out the Planning Commission Application (PDF) and return to the City Clerk's Office.